Log in

  • Home
  • J. Burrett, MD Award

About the John Burrett, MD Award

Dr. John B. Burrett was the first cardiologist to practice in the state of Alabama. In 1946 Dr. Burrett established CardioVascular Associates in the city of Birmingham. His legacy of dedication, skill, and compassion remain at the heart of the practice today.

As a tribute to Dr. Burrett each year we will honor an outstanding individual who has contributed significantly to the advancement of cardiovascular healthcare in Alabama. The Honoree will receive the John Burrett, MD award.

  • 2023 Don Gordon, MD
  • 2022 James M. Jones, III, MD
  • 2021 William R. Harrison, MD
  • 2020 Jerry Chandler, MD
  • 2019 Alfred Stanley, Jr., MD
  • 2018 Larry Dye, MD
  • 2017 Roger Moraski, MD
  • 2016 John T. Eagan, Sr., MD
  • 2015 Anderson M. Morris, MD
  • 2014 Norton Montague, III, MD
  • 2013 Neal Kay, MD
  • 2012 William R. Stetler MD
  • 2011 H. Cecil Coghlan, MD
  • 2009 Cooper Hazelrig, MD
  • 2008 Robert H. Yoe, MD
  • 2007 Richard O. Russell, MD

Thank you to our 2024 Sponsors:
Edwards Lifesciences | Amgen | AstraZeneca | Boston Scientific Watchman


The CVA Medical Education Foundation, PO Box 383083, Birmingham, AL 35238-3083


Phone: (205) 616-5938